Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Photo courtesy of Smitten Kitchen

I admit, I’m impatient and I hate when I don’t master something right away. Because of this, I strayed away from making a Swiss Meringue Buttercream. It seemed way too complicated and frankly, I didn’t want to fail. Funny enough, the process is damn easy and fairly foolproof. I’ve tried two recipes; one from Smitten Kitchen, found here, and one from From Scratch SF, found here.

I really like the tutorial from From Scratch SF because of the photos and especially because of her “ghetto double boiler”. It’s also very informative and entertaining! In any case, try both recipes. The Smitten Kitchen one is lighter in butter content and a little sweeter than the From Scratch SF one, but as I said, I like them both! The biggest tip I can give you is after you add the butter, mix SLOWLY and be patient. It will look like hell, but will eventually become beautiful!!!

Smitten Kitchen Recipe

From Scratch SF Recipe

5 thoughts on “Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Leave a comment